How to Delete Coinbase Account 2024

how to deactivate coinbase account

Some individuals open Coinbase Pro accounts and then forget about them, leaving some cryptocurrency there. Make sure you have no Bitcoin or other cryptocurrency balance on Coinbase Pro before closing your Coinbase account. To ensure maximum security when terminating your Coinbase account, it is best to examine and remove any active API keys or third-party applications that have access to your account. Stay up to date with our latest exchange reviews, promotions, how-to guides and educational articles on Bitcoin, cryptocurrency & more. No, each user is restricted to only one account on the Coinbase platform.

AncientFaces Opt Out: Personal Information Removal Guide 2024

You are aware of what you have in it, and you may get to it any time you want, but the funds are owned by Coinbase. Coinbase is a safe online marketplace for purchasing, trading, transferring, and storing cryptocurrencies. Once the profile pops open, scroll down to the base of the page to close your account.

Idtrue Opt Out: Personal Information Removal Guide 2024

  1. There are several reasons why you might want to delete or close your Coinbase account.
  2. Learn about any new privacy options available on social networking sites as quickly as possible.
  3. Make sure you cancel any recurring orders before moving further with the account termination process.
  4. One popular reason why most people why delete their Coinbase accounts is simply because they don’t use the platform any longer.

Use better options, such as PurePrivacy, to keep you safe online and erase your data with your permission. The first step is to visit the Coinbase website on a desktop or personal computer (PC). If the account has been inactive for up to 30 days, the user will be forwarded a seven-digit authentication code to their registered mobile number or email.

Terrain Advisors Opt Out: Personal Information Removal Guide 2024

Next, click on ‘Manage your profile’ immediately below the username and email address. This will automatically open another tab to the user’s profile, as depicted in the image. Alternatively, you can forfeit their balance to the Coinbase exchange itself by accessing the ‘Contact Us’ page on their account. Then, choose ‘Managing my account’ and what is the statement of retained earnings select ‘Closing my account’ from the list of options that pop up. Then select the ‘I would like to close my account’ section, fill in the remaining fields, and click ‘Submit.’ The funds will automatically be transferred to Coinbase. That experience helped them secure their accounts and safely connect and trade through your bank account.

This will open up a cautionary popup that requests the account password. Type in the password and click the ‘Close Account’ button to initiate the process. This will also wipe off the private keys of all cryptocurrencies stored previously in the deleted account. For account closures, all funds should be removed including pending orders on the exchange. Coinbase is not responsible for lost funds if the account has been deleted. For a full tutorial on how to withdraw money from Coinbase, read this tutorial.

On the menu that will appear, users will have the option to close their accounts. Coinbase is a popular cryptocurrency exchange platform that allows users to buy, sell, and store various cryptocurrencies. However, there may come a time when you decide to delete your Coinbase account for personal reasons or to explore other platforms. Kevin started in the cryptocurrency space in 2016 and began investing in Bitcoin before exclusively trading digital currencies on various brokers, exchanges and trading platforms. He started Hedge With Crypto to publish informative guides about Bitcoin and share his experiences with using a variety of crypto exchanges around the world.

Yes, you can delete your Coinbase account at any time – before verification or after verification. With this, you have successfully deleted your account on the Coinbase website. However, before you start deleting the Coinbase account, you should know that even your Coinbase Pro share most of your account’s settings. Next, click on the profile icon in the upper right corner and proceed to the “Manage your profile” menu. Users can disable advertisements and receive security monitoring from other providers with the help of this application.

Coinbase will retain some of your personal information for a minimum of five years as necessary to comply with legal obligations, to prevent fraud and resolve disputes. These are the frequently asked questions on how to close and delete Coinbase and Coinbase Pro account permanently, without any problem. Maybe you would like to transfer your cryptocurrency holdings to secure wallet. This website is using a security service to protect itself from online attacks. There are several actions that could trigger this block including submitting a certain word or phrase, a SQL command or malformed data. In the profile settings, you may find the “Close Account” option by scrolling down.

On the home screen of the Coinbase app, tap on the Menu icon on the top left corner of the screen. Remember that Coinbase retains some of your personal information to comply with regulations even after your account must have been successfully deleted. Finally, enter your Coinbase account password in the “Enter password” text field https://cryptolisting.org/ then click [Close Account] to delete your Coinbase account. We are not qualified advisors, and none of our content(s) is a licensed investment advice, nor is it a replacement from certified financial planner. Do your own research before investing in any cryptocurrency project, and always invest what you can afford to loose.

how to deactivate coinbase account

After you’ve closed your account, Coinbase will still retain some of your personal information for reasons of legal obligations, preventing fraud, and resolving disputes. Unlike some other crypto exchanges, closing your account on Coinbase is an easy process and in this article, you will learn how to delete your Coinbase account quickly. In that case, you need to transfer your cryptocurrency balances to another wallet. You will lose access to your Coinbase account for Bitcoin transactions and balances and the ability to purchase or sell cryptocurrencies when you close your account. Hedge With Crypto aims to publish information that is factual, accurate, and up-to-date. The information about a specific cryptocurrency exchange or trading platform in reviews and guides may differ from the actual provider’s website.

By stopping third-party trackers from connecting with their websites and enhancing your online safety, tracker blockers safeguard user data. If you have been a frequent user of Coinbase for Bitcoin purchases, you may have established what is known as recurring orders. Make sure you cancel any recurring orders before moving further with the account termination process. Downloading and storing transaction logs, invoices, and other important account data for future use or tax documentation is an additional security measure. Coinbase gives you a chance to use your account statements, which is beneficial for preserving records.

how to deactivate coinbase account

Once you’re on the page, scroll down and click on ‘Close Account’ to delete your account. Hence, if you proceed ahead, your Coinbase Pro account will also be deleted as well. But if you have made up your mind (which you ought to), then you can continue reading.

Leave a Comment

Related Posts